19-23 February 2018, Wanaka, New Zealand


Travel Advice

There will be a welcome reception on the evening of the 19th. The scientific talks commence the following morning, finishing at noon on the 23rd. To attend the full programme, delegates are advised to arrive in Wanaka on the 19th of February. 


International delegates may wish to plan additional activities around their journey to FINESS. Some general information about getting to Wanaka can be found here, and general Wanaka tourism information is available here.


Link to Wanaka from Queenstown Airport

The Queenstown Airport is the nearest access point for air travel to FINESS, from which the conference venue is reached by bus. To go directly to the booking form click here. There are 5 connections per day, and the journey goes via Cromwell, taking around 1hour 40mins. Ritchies will drop you at the Edgewater Hotel free of charge, please inform them of your final destination. If your flight is arriving later (after 5pm) on the 18th or 19th of February, please inform the organisers of your arrival details so that alternate transport can be arranged.


International visitors may wish to arrive in New Zealand via Christchurch (7 hour drive) or Dunedin (4 hour drive) International Airports, offering alternate travel options for those wishing to experience New Zealand’s beautiful South Island. 


If you would like to visit the Physics Department at the University of Otago on your way to FINESS, please contact the conference organisers to signal your interest so that we can assist you with organising accommodation in Dunedin and transport to Wanaka as necessary. 


The map below shows Wanaka, Queenstown, Dunedin (University of Otago), Christchurch (Largest International Airport).

International Advisory Committee

  • Ana Maria Rey (JILA & NIST, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA)
  • Matthias Troyer (Institut f. Theoretische Physik, ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Immanuel Bloch (Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Germany)
  • Simon Gardiner (University of Durham, UK)
  • Marzena Szymanska (Universty College London, UK)
  • Thomas Gasenzer (Heidelberg University, Germany)
  • Michael Fleischhauer (Kaiserslautern University of Technology, Germany)
  • Nick Proukakis (University of Newcastle, UK)
  • Luis Santos (University of Hannover, Germany)


  • Local Organiser and Chair: Ashton Bradley (Centre for Quantum Science, University of Otago, New Zealand) 
  • Local Organisers: Diana Evans,  Danny Baillie.
  • International chair: Andrew Daley (University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK) 
  • Joachim Brand (New Zealand Institute for Advanced Study, Massey University, NZ)
  • David Hutchinson (Dodd-Walls Centre for Photonic and Quantum Technologies, University of Otago, NZ)